Reflective Analysis

My task was to create a horror or thriller sequence using original images and to then edit the clip using premier pro. First of all I had to find a suitable location to shoot the sequence. This meant a setting with the facilities to produce low key lighting and ideally  thin corridors with old rooms. I found a old section of college which was part of the original 200 year old block.

This was the perfect location, it contained old fashioned windows empty and storage rooms and exposed floor boards. Along with cob webs and spiders could be seen along with out dated admin equipment; which after inspecting was no where near old enough to feature in the sequence. However, there was plenty in which the rooms had to offer.

Two rooms caught my attention, a room on the left of the landing and a room around the bend then right. The first was a old classroom, the second appeared to be an old bedroom or bathroom. Crucially though it contained a filthy old sink, boarded old windows and a old fashioned empty sideboard.  Meanwhile the classroom contained a chalk board and a storage room which was full of clutter and a dummy placed on a chair.

After assessing my options I decided to film entering the room containing the sink, where I got some close ups of a dripping tap and a cob webbed spider, I used lighting to exaggerate shadows and added in sound effects in the editing process. I then filmed a tracking shot which led into the storage room with the dummy.

The editing process was rather simple as I added a dripping sound for the tap and a horror soundtrack for the rest of the sequence. I the arranged the clips in a logical order. However if I was presented with more time I would’ve added separate audio tracks to each clip and I would’ve included fast paced cuts from each clip and rearranged and repeated some clips to create tension and fear.

Leave a comment